1

Following the suggestions to secure my raspberrypi from this article I:

  • created a new user
  • changed its password
  • disabled the default pi user with sudo passwd --lock pi
  • deleted the user pi with sudo deluser -remove-home pi

The user pi is still available in the log-in splash screen (although the other user is selected by default). There is no pi folder in /home though. Is the pi user deleted or is it still lingering around?

1

sudo deluser -remove-home pi is not correct, and should have given an error. Long command line options such as remove-home usually start with two --. Run like this and try again:

sudo deluser --remove-home pi

(As per your comment, it seems this resolved your problem.)

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.