I'm working through the HAT design guide to work out what kind of EEPROMs I can use.

To quote it:

  • 24Cxx type 3.3V I2C EEPROM must be used (some types are 5V only, do not use these).
  • The EEPROM must be of the 16-bit addressable type (do not use ones with 8-bit addressing)
  • Do not use 'paged' type EEPROMs where the I2C lower address bit(s) select the EEPROM page.
  • Only required to support 100kHz I2C mode.
  • Devices that perform I2C clock stretching are not supported.
  • Write protect pin must be supported and protect the entire device memory.

I would like to clarify a few things:

  1. Where it says the type "24Cxx" must be used: if an EEPROM has the prefix 24C, does this mean it might still be 5v only? And if it has that prefix, does that still mean it might not be 16-bit addressable, might be paged, might perform clock stretching, and might not have a WP pin that protects the entire memory?
  2. To save a lot of work, is there a list of potentially suitable EEPROMs?

Don't know about a list but I used this part from DigiKey: CAT24C32YI-GT3, part #CAT24C32YI-GT3OSCT-ND. I was able to program it...and then read it.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.